Back to All Events

The Written Word

  • Piedmont Center for the Arts 801 Magnolia Avenue Piedmont, CA 94611 (map)

Korngold: Much Ado About Nothing Suite
   Jesse Mills, violin
   Juliana Han, piano

Paul Wiancko: American Haiku
   Ayane Kozasa, viola
   Paul Wiancko, cello

Dana Wilson: The Night of H's
   Formosa Quartet


Beethoven: String Quartet in C major, Op. 59 No. 3
   Formosa Quartet


PCMF celebrates the written word, starting with Korngold’s charming suite of incidental music to Shakespeare's Much Ado About NothingAmerican Haiku takes inspiration from the Japanese poetic form, throws in some Appalachian fiddling, and ends up with a musical language that’s all Paul Wiancko. Dana Wilson’s The Night of H’s sets Jasmine Lin’s whimsical poem for four actors doing double duty as a string quartet. Beethoven inscribed his Third Razumovsky Quartet with a statement refusing to cede to his growing deafness – and the music bears out his determination.

$30 general, $15 student ($80 season pass for all PCMF 2018 events)
General seating. Box office opens 1 hour before the concert; the house opens 30 minutes before the concert.

Earlier Event: August 1
The Poetry of Music
Later Event: August 5
Prayers and Celebrations